T386 vs. T486
Hey everyone,

Forgive any typing mistakes - I’m writing this on my phone. I was just curious if anyone has shared this experience...

Five years ago I purchased a used T386 from a shop in Minnesota. I’m a professional jazz guitarist and music teacher in Nashville, TN, so I bought it sight unseen and had it shipped. I fell in love with the thing and eventually bought a new T486 from a local dealer three years later, thinking that I needed a backup and that the 486 should be even cooler.

Present day, two years later still, I still gig (and practice, and teach) with the 386 constantly. The 486, while prettier, is not nearly as acoustically vibrant, or warm through an amp - once again, I’m coming from a pretty “jazz” esthetic.

I’m just wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience with these two models. Of course, the 386 has been played much more than the 486, and they are at least five years apart in production date, but it still continues to amaze me that the new, more expensive one is just ok to me, while the older, less expensive one is amazing (outside of the cheap tuners?.) I know the Pu’s are different, but is there another design difference that I may be missing?

Thanks in advance,
Adam
Hey, Adam!  Welcome to the EGF.  I'm not the expert in this area, so I'm sure others will chime in.  But generally speaking, I thought the T386 vs. T486 differed in pickups and aesthetics, but body materials were the same.  One has flame laminate, but they're both still the same materials.

Acoustically, the differences would likely be how they were built.  Even though they used the same materials, wood is organic and reacts differently on different instruments, especially ones that are hand-crafted.  For differences plugged in, it could be the instrument, or it could be the different pickups.

And sometimes the sound simply defies the price point.  And those are usually the keepers.
Lukew likes this post
"It's only castles burning." -- Neil Young