T386 or T486
Hi there,

I've been researching both of these models for a few months now. I prefer the look of the T386 (plain top classic color instead of Flame top) but I read that folks often feel the picks ups should be changed out eventually. The T486 has Seymore Duncan pick ups but I've also read some folks change those out too, in which case the price becomes much wider. Eastman's are difficult to find where I'm located and due to covid, it makes it even tougher.

Any thoughts and recommendations between the two models?  I have listened to demos and with my lack of experience, I really can't make a solid judgement there.
Definitely T486. Look at it this way, the T386 would be the Chevy while the T486 is the Cadillac.
You get what you pay for. Having said that, different guitars appeal to different people. Get the one which appeals to you, can't go wrong.
Drakaland likes this post
Here is a Youtube link that has a comparison of the T386, T486, and T59. I like the sound of the T486 the best. I may eventually change the pickups in my T386.

John

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xk7i2iVgrk
The only difference between them are aesthetics and the pickups.  If you like the look of the T386 better, then get that and you can still get new pickups and be less than the 486.  I had a 386 and actually liked the pickups.  They're PAF style and lower output, but I thought they sounded good.  I only sold mine (recently) because I pretty much only play acoustic now and didn't want it sitting around in the case since I don't collect.  And the 386 classic finish is breathtaking (to me) in person.
Drakaland, Pura Vida, rpg51 like this post
Eastman:
Soon... I don't know what I was thinking

Non-Eastman:
2005 Gibson Songwriter Deluxe
Martin 000 Jr.