a longtime Martin player goes East(man)
My first really good acoustic was a Martin 00-21, purchased new back in 1974 or so. Had that guitar as my only acoustic for a couple of decades, then I switched to playing mostly bass and sold it. After a few years picked up an OM-21 and had that for another decade or so. Fast forward to last year and getting back into some solo guitar gigs, cycled through a couple Taylors, Furchs, and Martins, finally keeping an OM-28e Modern Deluxe. Actually a very good guitar, and the built-in Fishman Aura system sounds great.

But then I discovered square neck resonator, started working up most of my book on that and acoustic moved back to the back burner again. Recently added some formal jazz guitar study (I've been gigging as a jazz bassist for almost 30 years now) so I decided to experiment with some hollow-bodies (see other forum). I don't have infinite budget and try to keep a one in-one out strategy. Plus adding hollow bodies meant something had to give. Eastmans get a lot of praise so I figured I could sell the Martin and pick up an Eastman OM to cover the acoustic base while funding a jazz box. Called up LA Guitar Sales (they are semi-local to me) and an E10OM-TC was on its way.

It landed a few days ago, and so far so good. The Martin is up for sale, so clearly the Eastman is punching above its weight. I need to shave the saddle a bit and sort out a pickup solution but that's all expected. I can say that the E10OM-TC has a very nice set of overtones and incredible sustain - perhaps better than the Martin. While I've typically been a rosewood kinda guy, the recordings I heard of the E10OM-TC indicated it was a bit richer than a typical mahogany guitar.

Pics or it didn't happen - fun so far.

[Image: eastmans-800-2.jpeg][Image: eastmans-800-3.jpeg]
Shishigashira, SasquatchLife, Pura Vida, TomC, sleigh, Ritchie, Victor Vector like this post