Replacing a pickup on an ar503ce - need some advice
Whoops...I didn't mean to post twice.  Confused
(02-02-2021, 11:21 PM)Wildfield Wrote:
(01-25-2021, 05:06 AM)chinabird Wrote: Hello all, long time lurker, first time poster...

I've been thinking of replacing the pickup on my 503 archtop (recently bought used on Reverb, manufactured in 2014). As far as I've gathered, it's a Kent Armstrong HPAG-1.

Did anyone go through the process? 
Any advice or impression will be greatly appreciated.

Specifically:
1. Did anyone experience any difficulty with the rounded shape of the HPAG-1 tabs vs the rectangular tabs on most other pickups?
2. Did you swap the rest of the electronics or just the pickup?
3. How many wires should the new pickup have? 4 or just 1?

BTW, the leading replacement candidate is currently a Seth Lover, but I have no idea how it's going to pair with the guitar, so I'm open to suggestions...

Many thanks

While I'm no expert, I've replaced quite a few pickups over the years.  I have a single p/u Eastman AR603-15 in which I replaced the stock humbucker with a Kent Armstrong 16-pole handwound PAF.  Love the sound of that particular pickup and have installed the same model on a few of my guitars including a G&L ASAT Blues Boy and a handmade Stephen Holst archtop.  Most recently, I installed a floating version of the KA 16-pole PAF on my Ibanez GB40th.  Happy to post photos, if anyone is interested to see.

Re:  Kent Armstrong HPAG-1
It looks like a pretty standard PAF to me.  I would guess you could use the existing Eastman p/u ring with the mounting screws and springs that come with the p/u.  Shouldn't be too difficult.

Re:  Did you swap the rest of the electronics...