Yet another new owner thread
I just picked up an AC422CE on Reverb.  It came today and I'm quite happy.  I've been playing for about 30 years.  I've had several electrics (a strat, a les paul, and a jaguar) over the years and I have a very nice 12-string guitar, but for a 6-string acoustic, I've always just played the 1994 Fender AG-15 I bought in high school, and the top is starting to cave in, the bridge pulling up slightly, etc. and it just isn't worth putting any time and/or money into a $249 guitar from 1994.  The guitar appears to be in perfect condition.  It plays great.  Action measures at just a hair more than 3/32" at the low E and just a hair more than 2/32" at the high E, so pretty close to spec.  Neck is straight, no dead or buzzing frets.  Overall, my first impression is pretty good.

I have three questions for the much more knowledgable than me folks here.  :-)

1.  The serial number is 1685XXXX.  I'm assuming that's the 2016-2019 serial number scheme and that it was made in Nov/Dec of 2018.  Can anyone help me confirm that?

2.  It doesn't have a pick-guard.  I'm not sure if that's an issue or not for me yet, but if I decide I want one, can I get one from Eastman or do folks recommend something else?

3.  It has the Fishman (matrix VT I assume from the reading I've done) pickup in it.  It appears Eastman used to put the Schettler Lydia in this model, switched to the Fishman, and then to the LR Baggs in the current year models.  I haven't even put a battery in it yet to listen to it, but what are people's opinions about this pickups?  Does anyone know why Eastman moved away from the others?

Thanks.  I'm glad to be here!
Aahzz, Pura Vida, sleigh like this post

Attached Files

I can't answer those questions, but welcome, and happy NGD!!
pL9577 likes this post