T185, T186, Romeo... which thinline to get?
I’m seeking advice for my first Eastman purchase. I’m looking for a hollowbody (or semi-hollow without a full center block) that weighs <7 pounds. I really dislike heavy guitars.

I’m studying jazz guitar and love chord melody and solo guitar. I practice mostly unamplified, but — because I live in an apartment building — it’s important that the guitar have presence and be enjoyable to play, but not *too* loud. I love the versatile, warm sound of .012 round wounds with a wound third. I’m also a huge fan of the 80s-90s ECM players like John Abercrombie, Ralph Towner, Pat Metheny, etc. It’s a sound that I equate with acoustic sustain without overwhelming tinny-ness, and a mellow bass that stops juuuust short of being mushy. I can’t really blaze around eighth notes for hours, and don’t have that sort of interest.

I’ve narrowed it down to these three instruments, as I don’t want a full depth archtop. I’d love any feedback owners could share. Personally, I’d choose based on comfort while sitting down (I’m 6’ tall and play in a semi-Classical guitar style position, but with a strap), and for that clean, mellow tone when playing near the neck pickup. My purchase would involve a compromise somewhere, but whatever comes closest would get my vote.
Jozie likes this post
Looking at the specs, there are some considerations.  The T186 will have a bigger body (16") than the other two, which are 15" (T185) and Romeo (14.75").  All three are solid tops: Romeo is Spruce, and the T185/T186 are both Maple.  And the T185/T186 are both 100% carved, solid Mahogany back/sides, while Romeo is a Mahogany laminate.  All three show Lollar Custom Wound Imperial Humbucker pickups.