SB59 Review
    Having owned four Eastmans, I was urged, in another thread to review them. It’s too cold on this clear Carolina morning to do anything but drink coffee and wear layers, so here goes:

The SB 59 is my newest Eastman, so I’ll start there and work my way back. I’ve been playing for 50 years, and I’ve never owned a Les Paul-like instrument. Originally inspired by the introduction if the SB59 online, I decided it might be time. I came very close to buying one online, decided I needed to do some research, and auditioned a bunch of “LPs,” mostly Gibsons and the better Epiphones. I might have bought an Epi, but every one I played that had the other options I wanted, also had a D neck profile that just didn’t feel right. Then, as I was wallowing in indecision and after having bought a Cabronita Telecaster to soothe the GAS, my guy from Soundpure called and said they had a couple of SB59s in stock. I drove over to Durham, he put the first one in my hands, and I was lost. 

Except for the softened horn and slightly altered headstock, this is an excellent copy of a 59 Les Paul. And it’s the best “59” I played in my search. Fit and finish is flawless, the hardware is high quality and period correct. The fret work is extraordinary; I couldn’t have done better by taking it straight from the shop to a luthier. The fret ends are even rounded. That, and great set up, puts it in a quality level above the expensive Gibson’s I played.